I am really excited about this book.  It’s funny because this is not the original post I intended to blog today.  That will come later.  (I am working with one of my favorite artists, Christopher Walker to help me create an image for that post first.)

I had another beautiful session with my coach Jacque (of course!), which led me to want to blog about it, which led me to want an image for it (which was impossible — though I tried to find one — because I had somehow created this image myself out of my own mind!)  This then led to me sharing my blog post draft with Chris to inspire him, which led to him recommending this book to me!

I’ve already begun listening to it.  I’m one hour in, and I love it.  What I love most is that 1) This author is telling me things I’ve heard over and over again but in a way I’m better understanding or maybe ready to understand 2) This author is also shaking up my world a bit!

“I am enough.”  This phrase came up for me first in the Masks Off! coaching class I took with my same coach, Jacque Alderete.  I haven’t really resonated the phrase, but it’s making more and more sense why it’s coming up for me.  I realized today that I have this sense that I need to “earn” money.  That I need to deserve it.  And I was beginning to feel that this would always be out of my grasp.

Catherine Ponder says that there is no “deserving.”  Just by our nature, abundance is ours.  It is the Law of Divine Birthright.  “Mmmhmm,”  I thought.  I had heard this before.  But then she blew me away.  She equated lack thinking to “sin.” “Poverty is a sin. It drives men and women to all manner of terrible things.  It drives people to delinquency and crime. Why would we think it would be right for us not to have enough?”

She said that we as a people have been misreading the Bible.  This came from authority figures wishing to dissuade rebellion and control the masses.  In actuality: “The Bible is a prosperity textbook.”  The Bible clearly shows that settling for lack and limitation IS NOT God’s way.  She says that most of the great men in the Bible had great access to riches.

And then, she really turned my head when she said that asking for money for the sake of the good works you will do with it is just as much of a problem. . .

But it makes perfect sense now.  As children of God (Source) we are meant to be abundant.  “Why should God want us to be poor?” Done.  “Lack” does not fit with our birthright. “Prosperity is your divine heritage.” We have only to ask and also invoke the Universal Laws.  But to ask for abundance because of what we will do with it — that is simply “deserving” all over again, but coming in through the back door.  And can only lead to resentment and frustration when we things don’t work out as we’d hoped: Shouldn’t I have this abundance by now??  Look at all the GOOD I would have done with it!

So, here are the keys I’ve discovered so far:

1. Recognize that your mind is your connecting link to abundance.  Become aware of your attitudes, mental concepts, beliefs, and outlook.  These will influence your ability to receive. Also, be open to how you might receive.  Ponder says abundance comes through the “talents, abilities, and ideas” that are longing for expression through you.    “God can only do for you what he can do through you.”  Open yourself up to these possibilities and be prepared to act.

2. Be a person of increase.  This is the Law Prosperity.  Everyone always has something to give.  Ponder tells the story of a widowed woman who was desperate for food for her family and nearly cried when her wise pastor told her to find something to give.  She then remembered that she had some beautiful flowers in the garden.  She willingly cut them and gave them to a very grateful sick neighbor.

3. Open up contact, say: “I stir up the gifts of God within me and around me, and I am blessed on every hand with happiness, success, and true achievement.”

4. Prepare the way. The same widow set out her finest china for dinner that night in expectation.  The kids began to get excited in anticipation.  Soon after someone who had owed her money came by and dropped off a portion of the debt owed, which was enough for dinner.  Act in expectation of it happening.  Pray, affirm your capacity for abundance.  “I attract whatever I choose.  I choose health and abundance.  I dare to attract riches and its hospitality and enjoy them now.”

I look forward to continued insight!

Much love, many blessings. ❤

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

