Support Local!

smallbusiness-403123_1280

I used to be afraid of “business.”  It was the great unknown.  My dad was a nurse, my mom was a librarian.  Some of my aunts and uncles were in “business,” but I didn’t really know much about it.  Then, I became a teacher, so it was still off of my radar.  I’d heard of the local “Chamber of Commerce,” and I vaguely wondered what it was.

Now I own two small businesses, and my fiancee is a network marketer.  Most of our household products come from his business, and more and more of our new friends we’ve met through networking.   Recent purchases and gifts have come from small business owners, and many of my coaching clients are involved in new business endeavors.

Many individuals are embracing the life of an entrepreneur.  Though it’s often quite the roller coaster ride, many enjoy the thrill and appreciate the flexibility in hours and income.  Some are grateful to spend more time with their families. Many are finally following their dreams.

In a society that has moved away from “Mom and Pop” and toward “super” markets and conglomerates, “small” is making a comeback. “Small Business Saturday,” is a great example, started in 2010 as a response to big business’s “Black Friday” and “Cyber Monday.”

Most of you have friends and family with their own businesses, and many things you buy at “big-box” stores can also come from small businesses.  In this season of gifts and gratitude, please remember the entrepreneurs.  (Why turn a gift for one into a gift for TWO?)

Much love, many blessings. ❤

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

