ID-100144737The 2nd habit of Stephen Covey’s 7 Habits of Highly Effective People is begin with the end in mind.  I read this years ago, but today I finally made the metaphysical connection.  The “end” that Covey speaks of is the same “what” that Mary Morrissey speaks of in her DreamBuilder and Morning Mentor programs.  As Mary says, our inner mind understands pictures, and the more clearly we can image our goals, purposes, and ideals, the more the universe can bring together the “how”s to make our “what”s happen.

What does this mean?  We get clear on what we want, what we really want.  What are our dream?  We see these dreams as clearly as if we are living those dreams today, as I’m learning in DreamBuilder.  We step into those dreams.  And then we shine the light of our attention on those dreams, just as I’ve been learning in the School of Metaphysics in the visualization lessons. (I love how everything I’ve been learning is coming together!)  Meanwhile, we don’t worry about how it’s going to happen.  We focus on clearly presenting what our dream is to the universe, so that our subconscious mind (inner mind) can do what it does best.

As we clarify our dream, we keep ourselves open and receptive to what the subconscious mind has brought for us.  (It may come in unexpected ways!)  I love the story of the man praying to be saved from the flood:  As the waters began to rise, he prayed to be saved.  A neighbor in a canoe came by, but he said “No thanks, God will save me.”  Police came by in a motorboat, but again, he waved them on.  Finally, the waters were so high that he was forced onto the roof, and a helicopter dropped down a rope.  The man insisted that he was trusting in God and stayed put.  So, the man drowned.  When he got to heaven he questioned God about this, and God replied, “I gave you the canoe, the motorboat, and the helicopter!”  We may have a goal or dream and put our attention on it and pray and pray and pray for it to happen, but if we don’t keep our mind open to the possibilities — the subconscious mind is full of infinitely amazing possibilities — we stay blindly stuck in our limitations and miss wonderful, fulfilling opportunities.

In today’s Morning Mentor, Mary encouraged her listeners to focus on 3 times in our lives when everything really came together for us.  I’m going to list my 3 now, and I encourage you to do the same and then to reflect on this throughout the day:

  1. Studying abroad in Mexico.  I could feel it.  I knew I was going.  I was scared; I didn’t know how all of the details were going to work out (and some I figured out after I got there!), but I knew I was going.  I just knew it.  And it was one of the best experiences of my life.
  2. Getting a 2nd dog.  Brian planted the thought of getting a new dog in my head, and I ran with it.  It was so firmly entrenched that I picked up “Leia” a few weeks later from the local animal control, and we all adore her.  Though she was not the dog we’d originally imagined, and she turned out to be quite a handful, she fits in perfectly in our household.
  3. My fiancee Brian.  A few months before Brian and I started dating I became entrenched in the idea that I was going to have an intimate relationship that year.  I got what I’d wanted and more, a relationship that has lasted 7 years and that continues to blossom and grow.

What are your 3? (I would love it if you would share your stories in the comments below!) I wish you all wonder, blessings, and the fulfillment of your dreams.

Image courtesy of Stuart Miles at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

