Please check out my latest article on lifehack.org: 10 Things Your Dreams Can Tell You About Yourself.  It goes into detail about common dreams and dream symbols: what they mean, and how you can apply them to your life.

I had two different dream themes this morning — one realistic, one more imaginative.  One half of my dreams had to do with singing.  In one I’m at a concert but haven’t been attending any of the rehearsals and therefore don’t know some of the words and am pleasantly surprised when each song begins. (Oh!  Great song!)  Later, a teacher from the College of Metaphysics — who led the Cantata last year — is talking about solos that we’re going to do, and she asks me if I want to do one of them today.  I think that I can do it, but I’m not sure.

In the other dreams people’s clothes were different.  They reminded me of Robin Hoodish plain, peasanty garb.  In one there is a girl sneaking through the woods to get a glimpse of her father.  Someone who would seem to be her enemy senses movement in the woods and suspects it is her.  He sneaks up on her and covers her mouth so that she doesn’t scream.  He wants to help her.  In the other instance I am going somewhere; I’m on my way out.  I’ve promised my sister and someone that I would see them before I went.  I must walk down a LONG paved way to get to the end of the path, past some people at picnic tables.  Then I have to double-back and go all the way down a path to the back of the woods where my sister will be.  I wonder why I didn’t just stop there first afterall, to save some of this time and walking.  As I’m walking a small black dog (like my neighbor’s dog) comes running up, barking ferociously.  I talk to it sweetly and emit a calm feeling, in hopes of calming it down. I think it works.

The first dream has to do with harmonization and with being unprepared.  I suspect this has to do with initiations I’m going through and with ways I’m seeking to grow within myself.  It’s time to perform, time for me to show my stuff and present something awesome, but I haven’t done the work, the practice, to really, truly pull it off.  I’ve been thinking a lot about my scattered mind and about do my metaphysical exercises the best I can.  I suspect this is what that dream is about.  The last part is likely about a dream class my teacher asked me to teach.  I would really enjoy doing it, but I’m not sure I’m ready for the time commitment.  This is what I’m hesitating on in the dream.  To apply these dreams I need to make sure I put in my best effort in my exercises and work on being present and concentrated throughout the day.

In the second dream the clothes and environment stand out to me.  It could be a past life memory, but I’m not sure it was. (Even if it was, it can still be interpreted symbolically.)  The garb is of peasants, which suggests an expression of lacking self value.  The forest is a place of subconscious mind.  The mixture of women and men in the dream suggest interaction between conscious and subconscious, although there is some secrecy, confused trust/loyalty, lack of planning and wise direction choices, etc.  The dog is a distracting, unpleasant habit!  To apply this dream I would want to work on trusting myself, particularly relating to my subconscious state of mind.  I would want to be open and try to create a clear plan or direction using my subconscious, free of distraction, particularly bothersome, unproductive ways of thinking.

Happy dreaming!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

