Image courtesy of Stuart Miles at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of Stuart Miles at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

I’m grateful for insights on dreams.

Tuesday I called my metaphysics teacher.  I was frustrated with my dreams.  I didn’t feel I had a good connection with my subconscious.  Maybe that side of me was fine, but my conscious mind just wasn’t getting it.  My teacher showed me how to look at the theme of the dream so that I could connect it to the day before and then apply it to my life.  She also told me to take time during the day to recognize my learnings, to assimilate throughout the day.  Finally, in response to my frustrations with understanding some dreams, she told me to ask my subconscious to give me simple messages.

That day I’d had a dream about a ceremony with a man becoming a godfather.  We worked through the dream.  She said to ask myself: “What do I know about superconscious mind?”  “What do I know about godfathers?” I believed a ceremony was an initiation.  Some sort of initiation is occuring in my life, and the superconscious is involved in it.  Yesterday morning my subconscious apparently honored my plea for simplicity because part of my dream was a written message that I wrote out in sidewalk chalk.  I wrote “Be ready!  You’re next.”  Because we received a new exercise in class that same night, I believe that was the message from my dream.  This morning I dreamt that I was back at my most recent job and that I was doing a block shift.  I was told by one of the guys (like a manager, but not quite) that I wouldn’t get paid for the block because of something.  wasn’t there for quite the whole time or there wasn’t as much work or something.  I was upset.  I was thinking about quitting and was telling people so (or a protest or something.) The theme of this dream is that I wasn’t receiving the value that I thought I deserved for the work that I had done.  This could mean not receiving internal recognition for work I had accomplished that day or it could have meant believing I had not received recognition/appreciation for work that day.  I could see a connection to both of these the previous day.  My learning for this would be to honor my accomplishments within myself and also to find a greater good and purpose in my work so that I do not feel I need the compliments and appreciation from others.

I’m grateful for progress. (Any!)

And so. . . I honor my baby steps today.  Today with Cindy, my life purpose coach, we went over breaking things down into steps again, but even more simply “What is my next step?”  I often freak out at the totality of a project, but I can handle that little step, right?  And if that “little” step is too big, I can break it down even further.  I’m noticing resistances and procrastination at every corner these days.  But I’m making some progress. 🙂  I’m working through some of my awkwardness, too.  I’m starting to open up more to people in my networking group.  I had a couple of really interesting conversations today because I overcame my insecurities and stuck with the conversation.  Little-by-little.  And today I made some progress at the library, doing an activity with a child and leaving a flyer with a parent, and then talking with a librarian about setting up a make-and-take workshop and resources for getting a children’s book published.  (I’ve been thinking about reworking my book Tiny a little bit and getting it published.)

I’m grateful for reconnecting with old friends.

I’m trying to accept more invites and hang out with more people.  It’s difficult to know when to say “yes” or not with everything going on these days.  I think I should make it a daily practice to take a moment to pause, go within, and reflect before I make decisions. Tonight I met up with some friends that I hadn’t seen for years and years (some 5, some more!)  We had some interesting conversations — even some very deep, and metaphysical/philosophical ones —  and it felt great to reconnect with people.  In a strange way I felt like things hadn’t changed, like some people hadn’t changed. I’d changed.  Had they changed?  What was really going on inside of all of us?

What are you grateful for today?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

