Image courtesy of photoraidz / FreeDigitalPhotos.net"

Image courtesy of photoraidz / FreeDigitalPhotos.net”

I’ve decided to change Mondays from “Metaphysics Mondays” to “Memory Mondays”, since everything I write about is generally already tied to metaphysics in some way.  I’ve been wanting an excuse to look back on life — go through travel journals and diaries, watch home movies, look through photo albums, etc, so this is my excuse to do it.

I started a new writing project with one of my Sunday tutoring students, and it was inspired by a homework assignment from one of my metaphysics lessons.  We break our lives into 5-year increments, and once we surpass the past and arrive at present time, we begin imagining our future.

This is what I have so far:

0-5 Years

  • “See? . . .  “Ight!” (Light)
  • Came out quiet (not crying!), checking out the world.
  • Apparent near suicide attempt — squeezed through the sliding glass door to our balcony on the second story and nearly crawled right off the edge before my dad came to my rescue.
  • Typwriter for birthday
  • Home Daycare
  • My parents had a bedroom in the backroom; it was converted to our daycare lunch room
  • The living room became the main room with green carpeting and white shelves holding varying Montessori materials
  • My first (and hopefully last!) nemesis (daycare child)
  • Daycare crush
  • Awkward car scene when my parents were complimenting a daycare student on how quiet he was being, and I piped in  a loud voice”What about me?  I’m quiet, too, right?  Aren’t I quiet?” (face palm)
  • Red corduroy dress (and pictures where I am oblivious that I am showing my underwear)
  • Nap time on green fold out cots
  • Flags on my birthday cake!
  • Sister is born (in our house!)
  • My mom’s first introduce to Shaklee (vitamins during her pregnancy)
  • Montessori preschool
  • Nutcracker Fairy Dress
  • Dancing around the house to the “Nutcracker” on the record player, waving my fair wand like a Sugar Plum Fairy, and running up and down the hallway to the “Russian Dance”
  • Telling neverending stories about “Koffa Kouff”
  • Started wearing glasses — looked around the room in amazement, as if seeing the world for the first time
  • Riding Big Wheels in the street
  • Discovered TV and that I had an aunt my age
  • Car rides to Ohio to visit Mom’s side of the family for Christmas
  • Began T-ball
  • pixie hair cuts
  • Learned to read with “Pig Can Jig”
  • Grandma Karl reading to me.
  • Best friend Mandi lived across the street.

To be continued next week with Ages 6-10. . .

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

