Image courtesy of maple / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of maple / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Today I give thanks for another School of Metaphysics student who I have just gotten to know better. (This seems to happen on these long weekends!) 🙂  His unbelievable optimism and love has inspired me so much that I have made him my image for how to think positively.

The first night of this past weekend, we invited this gentleman to join us in our tent.  (I have a HUGE tent that could probably fit 6-8 people, if we tried, and there were only 3 of us.) His group was not camping out as planned, and he seemed to have the itch to be outdoors.  He was overjoyed when we invited him.  However, Friday night it rained, and — despite the well-placed rain cover — water somehow entered the tent.  (I believe it soaked in from below or sloshed in from one or both of the doors.  I’m really not sure.)  Unfortunately, this young man was the one who got soaked.  And fortunately, this young man was the one who got soaked!

I woke last after a restless sleep, and when I finally met up with him, he was smiling and full of joy. “Are you ok?” I asked.  “Oh yes!” he said.  “The water began to slowly creep, and I kept readjusting, and finally I knew I had to get up.  And it was great!  I got up early enough to be prepared for my meditation, and I had a wonderful experience!”

I was flabbergasted.  It didn’t bother him that he’d gotten wet, lost some sleep, and had to hang his clothes out over some trees.  He was grateful for the experience.  In fact, he continued to thank me for allowing him the chance to camp out that night.  Suddenly any complaints I had seemed rather insignificant. . .

So, thank you, beautiful friend!  In your honor I will strive to think as you do, bringing light and love to any situation!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

