Image courtesy of AKARAKINGDOMS / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of AKARAKINGDOMS / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Why should an adult read a children’s book?

Well, first of all it’s FUN.  They can bring back childhood memories.  And lately I’m realizing that there are some great lessons in there for us, too.

Take Ruby the Copycat, for instance.  I chose this book for one of my tutoring students because it was recommended for practicing the ISAT Reading Extended Response, with a focus on theme.  The book is about a new girl, Ruby, who wants to fit in.  She immediately starts copying things that her new friend has and does.  It takes a broken friendship and a nudge from her teacher for Ruby to finally appreciate her own talents and start being herself.

This sounds like your typical children’s lesson, but then I thought: “Hey!  This applies to me, too!”   My intuitive health analysis said that I desire to align my vibration with others — expecting others to bring me up — when I actually need to hold my own vibration strong enough to lift others.  So, I am Ruby.  We both have come to recognize our own gifts and are learning to be ourselves.

Penny and her Marble comes from my tutoring student, and she summarized it as follows: Penny finds a marble outside her neighbor’s house and keeps it.  As time passes she begins to dwell on it, worrying that her neighbor is upset that it’s missing.  Her worries cause her to lose her appetite and have nightmares, so Penny finally brings it back to her neighbor, only to discover that her neighbor had left the marble there on purpose, hoping somebody would find it and enjoy it.

For my tutoring student the lesson was “Don’t take things that don’t belong to you.”  But it’s about more than that.  This is a story about the importance of communication.  How often do we dwell, worrying about something we did or said to another person, only to find out later that they hadn’t given it a second thought?  (Way guilty here!)  If Penny had confronted her neighbor immediately, she would have saved herself an upset stomach and a sleepless night.  How many of us have experienced the same?

So, don’t be afraid to pick up a children’s book.  They’re for grownups, too!

Have you reread a childhood favorite recently?  See if it applies to you today!  (And please share. :-))

Comments on: "A Book Look: Ruby the Copycat & Penny and Her Marble" (2)

  1. HI, I’m nominating you for the Leibster award. Check out details here: litcoachblog.wordpress.com
    Mel

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

