What I Like About You. . .

Image courtesy of Stuart Miles / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of Stuart Miles / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

A few weeks ago I met with my metaphysics teacher to talk about manifesting and occupations.  At some point near the end of my conversation, she suggested that maybe I actually love my job. Well, I do not love my job — well, occasionally I do, but it is not something that I see myself doing for the rest of my life.  I’m looking for a world-changing job.  I mean, every day I want to wake up, looking forward to my work, knowing that I am making a difference in the lives of others.  I know I can do this in some way — and I do — but I would like this to be the main purpose of my job, not a side gig.

Regardless, there are many aspects of my job that I do love, and my teacher suggested that I focus on those as I’m thinking about the next step.  The Law of Attraction says that we draw to ourselves what we put our focus on.  So, I’d like to focus on the good stuff!

What I love about my job:

1. The people.  The people I work with are awesome.  They are friendly, I love them, and I have gotten fairly attached to some of them.  (One came back today after a week-long unexplained break, and I was pretty excited to see him!)   Also, my work place is pretty huge, so I’m still getting to know new people, even after working there 5 months.

2. I’m active.  I do not, not, not want to sit behind a desk (at least, not all day).  When I was a teacher I just used the desk for my books and plans!  I am on my feet for most of the day.  I stand, I walk, I push carts, I lift books, I lift boxes, I toss books, I move boxes, etc. etc.  (And I’ve recently noticed that I’ve developed some nice abs — Bonus!)    I am an active person who likes to be on the move.  So, that works out great.

3. I’m mostly left alone.  I am a responsible person with competence  and integrity, and anyone who doesn’t believe that doesn’t know me.   (So, let’s get with the program!)  I like to be directed, but after that I don’t want to be looking over my shoulder every 5 minutes to see if you’re watching me.  For some reason at this job, I still worry about this.  But I realized I don’t need to.  As I said,  people are awesome.

4. When I leave work, I leave work. That was one of the things that I hated about teaching.  Tutoring has been a little better.  When I was a teacher, I was a TEACHER.  And then I sort of had a life with whatever little leftover time I could pull out of my you-know-what.  In this job my work is done as soon as I clock out.  When I come home I work on things that I want to work on.  (Am I still too busy?  Absolutely, but let’s stay focused here!)

5. The schedule. I would like to work less hours, but as far as an 8.5 hour-a-day job, it’s pretty good.  I leave late enough to avoid most of the rush hour traffic and also have time to get some of my metaphysics exercises done before I leave.  I get home a little late, but I still have my evenings for my classes, blogging, more exercises, reading, dinner, etc.

6. I work on one task at a time.  Occasionally I will have to drop what I’m doing to work on something else for a bit, but generally my work is the same from day-to-day, and I decide the order of when I do things and I work on one thing at a time.  I do not like to multi-task, which is another thing that drove me crazy about teaching.

7. Flexibility.  I haven’t had any problems getting days I needed off, and if I’ve finished my work early, I haven’t had a problem with leaving early.   (Also, no sub plans!)

8. Snacking and Bathrooming. I can snack as I work.  I can go to the bathroom whenever I want.  This may sound ridiculous, but if you’ve ever been a teacher, you know how wonderful this is.  (Bonus: I’m actually eating during lunch time!)

9. Decent commute. It takes me about 25 minutes to get to work if I take the highway.  30-35 if I take the alternate route.  On the way back I run straight into a bottleneck, but it’s still about a 30-minute drive.  And it’s a pretty straight shot.

10. I work with books. Unfortunately, half of what I do is recycle books because there is something wrong with them.  BUT ON THE POSITIVE SIDE*, I still get to touch lots and lots of books.  And I do love books.  So much.  Just ask Brian. Or our basement and guest room. . . .

11. I get to use a computer. At some point I realized I actually do spend a lot of my day on a computer (standing!), and I was not thrilled about this.  However, I do get to use my mad-fast typing ability once in a while, and I have enough physical movement between carts that I don’t feel like I’m staring at a screen 24/7.

Well, that’s about it for now.  Have at that, universe!

*I learned the beauty of COMPLETELY CAPITALIZING WORDS in the middle of a sentence from one of my wonderful tutoring students.  Not appropriate for final drafts, but perfect for “cute copies”! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

