I Am Not My Physical Body

Image courtesy of samarttiw / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of samarttiw / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Yesterday I really struggled with that one, that I’m not my body. I was limited in my food options for the day, and I realized how much I really depend on my chocolate, mixed nuts, and Shaklee smoothie to get me through the day. I struggled with anger, frustration, and then low energy, as I dealt with the change. I knew I could choose to be positive; I knew that thought is cause, and that I control my destiny. However, yesterday I felt like I just didn’t care. I felt like I just gave up. Yesterday instead of using my will power to still my mind and observe and change my thoughts, I used it to survive the day.

So, I got really hard on myself, feeling like I’d failed. And to that I added depression, dwelling on some unpleasantness at work and some general life struggles. I didn’t even realize I was attacking myself again. Then, last night my teacher said: “Do you think you haven’t changed?” I realized I thought I hadn’t. I still imagined myself to be where I was when I started class; I saw myself as stagnant. And I realized I knew that wasn’t actually true, or at least I believed it wasn’t true.

So then I took stock: I can meditate, sometimes for a half hour! My self-confidence is improving. I am beginning to believe that I am abundant and able. I am more open. I’m much more friendly with others. My mind is sometimes stilled (sometimes!). I no longer blame the universe when things don’t go “perfectly” for me; I look to the lesson behind the situation. I am remembering my dreams almost daily, and I’ve started analyzing them more and responding to them. I’m sure there’s more, but the point is: I have changed. I am exactly where I need to be.

I don’t think my self-image is going to improve overnight. (Though, yes, it’s possible!) I feel it’s going to take baby-steps:

1. Noticing my thoughts. Making small changes.

2. Finding things to celebrate each day.

3. Being grateful for the lessons learned each day.

A great start. ๐Ÿ™‚

Comments on: "I Am Not My Physical Body" (5)

  1. If you are interested in dreams please read my blog; moreover and more importantly share your dreams with me, I do not profess to analyse, but it is of profound importance to extend the hand of dialogue for those who are sharing in the analysis of dreams, something I do greedily.

    • Ok! ๐Ÿ™‚ I remember my dreams almost every day.

      • I have been jotting dreams down for years but I do not recall them each night. I like to treat dreams as microfiction. If you are creative with your language they become literary, not just a practical necessity. I anticipate something interesting.

      • Neat. ๐Ÿ™‚ They can be quite inspirational, and the symbolism can get crazy! I have the intention of writing down something — even if it’s a “?”– every morning, so that I remember my dreams.

      • I concur, it is imperative that you get something down. To write a blog is something aberrant to my character, I had never even used Facebook till very recently. I decided to start the blog for the that very reason: to just write and interpret my dreams, in addition I have always kept my writing very close to me, but decided to let the public criticize my writing, so far no one has, but maybe they will. Peculiar symbolism is what makes the dream so fascinating. I am loathe to publish any boredomundane dreams on my blog, though I promised I would, so I do.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

