For last week’s writing homework, my tutoring student wrote his own version of Mark Teague’s The Secret Shortcut.  I thought he did a pretty decent job, and for the next series of lessons, we’re going to work on taking each piece of his story and expanding it.

This is what he started with:

“Mom, Bob and I are going to be late for school if we don’t leave in 5 minutes.  On the way to school I encountered a humongous lion that said I couldn’t pass unless I answered a riddle.  I managed to do so, but it took me like 15 minutes.  The moment I got to school my teacher yelled at me for being so so so so so so so so so so so late.  Then next I encountered pirates who said I had to walk the decks if I didn’t give them 1 hundred dollars, so I ran home and gave them the money.  But since I had to go back to my house, I lost at least 15 minutes of time.  The day after that I decided that I would go 30 minutes early.  But again, more things were in my way, such as a thick fog that made me lose my way in it twice and made me lose about 20 minutes of time.  Then came a lion that chased me back to my house, which took 19 minutes of my time.  Again my teacher yelled at me.  But today I am going through a secret shortcut that I found right in my backyard.  It turns out that instead of being a secret shortcut it was a huge jungle that took me what I thought 5 hours to get to the edge of.  But just then I saw a glimpse of red, the color of our school.  I went a bit closer to the end of the jungle and saw my school.  Just then I heard the bell ring. I was finally there on time.  I kept on going into that very shortcut and each time finding a a different biome, such as deserts and also sea life.”

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

