"Stars Abstract" courtesy of digitalart/ FreeDigitalPhotos.net

“Stars Abstract” courtesy of digitalart/ FreeDigitalPhotos.net 

(“You’ve earned a gold star!”)

For some reason I tend to get bogged down and low when the toughest part of the week is over.  (Why? I ask myself: “Why???”)  In my effort to combat this trend and lift my spirits, I present here my accomplishments for the week:

1. Clearing out my living space. Most of my teaching books were moved out of the office and into the basement, and then out of the basement and out to the tutoring center.  Yay for clearing!  Then, I moved most of my Spanish teaching books from the office back to school.  (Soon I won’t be able to recognize that office room anymore!)

2. Taxes = Completed.  Inevitably attempting taxes will result in extreme agitation, a pain matched only by my intense grading sessions.  Thankfully, I managed to complete my taxes in one evening over the course of 3.5 hours, so the experience was contained and short-lived.

3. The hardest part of my week is over. The teaching and the majority of my tutoring is done for the week.  (I have one student on Sunday, and then I pick up again with more tutoring on Monday.)

4. The majority of my grading is done. I had open conferences on Thursday and was able to knock out a majority of my grading AND get a few needed odds-and-ends done.

5. I’ve been blogging every day. I think I’ve missed a day or two over the last few weeks, but I think I’ve made every day of this week.  Sometimes I don’t want to post because I think my blog is dumb and no one will be interested, but I’ve been able to push through that self-criticism and just get done what I’ve set out to do, knowing you win some, and you lose some.

6. I’ve been exercising at least every other day. This week has been tough, but with the mindset that I should be doing some sort of exercise every day, I’ve at least got that habit in place, even if I miss some.  Sunday was housecleaning.  Monday was Zumba.  Tuesday was walking around the school hallways.  Wednesday was dancing around the house.  Thursday I missed one.  Friday was yoga.  Today will be Zumba again.

7. Student successes.  I’m sure I have many small successes that I may not even be aware of.  But more recently I had a mom of one of my more reluctant tutoring students tell me that she had asked her daughter if she wanted to skip today, and the girl had said no, that she wanted to come in. (Yay!)  Also, another tutoring student who has had trouble getting anything done at all during our sessions has been much more focused the last few weeks.

8. I’m still vegetarian. I’m half-way through my 4th month of being a vegetarian, and I’m still hanging in there.  Almost cheated a bit Thursday out of necessity, but I couldn’t even do it.  (I may post more about that later.)

9. I’m limiting added sugars and salty snacks. I’ve been limiting myself to chocolate (mostly dark) and Shaklee salty snacks, and I’m still going pretty strong.  I had trouble turning down some round, sweet snacks on Pi Day at the school (out of politeness, believe it or not), but I limited myself to small pieces and bites and did just fine.  I wasn’t even upset about missing out on having more of the treats.  The only time I really struggled was when I hadn’t had enough to eat in general and then everything looked absolutely fabulous to eat during those times.

10. Following up with my life coach homework. I’ve been doing fairly well with my assignments from my life coach, already done with the major part of my assignment for this week (jotting down a list of interesting job titles).  The next step is to look more deeply into the healing professions, something I’ve already begun but need to look into a little more closely.

Well done, Teri!  I’m looking forward to another great week!

Comments on: "This Week’s Accomplishments — Top 10" (4)

  1. Productive – good work! What level vegetarian are you?

    • Thanks! Mostly vegetarian. I think my vitamins may have fish oil in them, but otherwise I don’t think I’m eating anything with animal meat. Not vegan, though, so I’m eating animal products like eggs, cheese, yogurt, etc.

  2. Scott Styles said:

    Getting animal sources out of your vitamins is extremely tedious and expensive. You’re smart not to worry about it.

    • Thanks for the feedback on that. I’m really happy with the supplementation I’m using, but I do feel a bit guilty about it.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

