"Pink Flowers Growing On Rock" courtesy of Evgeni Dinev/ FreeDigitalPhotos.net

“Pink Flowers Growing On Rock” courtesy of Evgeni Dinev/ FreeDigitalPhotos.net

An interesting progression today led me to Dido’s “For Rent” and the tears that are now streaming down my cheeks.  I was thinking about jobs again,  jotting some things about work that I enjoy and that are meaningful to me.  Somewhere along my Facebook perusals, checking my mail, reading a bit about the law of attraction, and pursuing music to listen to while grading, I came across an advertisement for Dido’s new CD.  I love Dido!  I have two of her CDs that someone gave to me long ago.  I looked into her bio to see if she’d had any other CDs put out since then, and listened to samples of those songs.  I enjoyed listening to them and decided I would put Dido on shuffle this morning.  As I was pouring a glass of water in the kitchen I was suddenly jarred by these words: “I’ve always thought that I would love to live by the sea.”  (A recent obsession of mine.)  Transfixed, I listened to the rest of the lyrics, and something stirred inside, and I came undone.

“I’ve always thought
that I would love to live by the sea
To travel the world alone
and live more simply
I have no idea what’s happened to that dream
‘Cause there’s really nothing left here to stop me

It’s just a thought, only a thought

But if my life is for rent and I don’t learn to buy
Well I deserve nothing more than I get
Cos nothing I have is truly mine”

Why am I settling?  Because I’m still a prisoner of my thoughts and fears.  But I have hope that I will soon be free.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

