"Golden Star Award" courtesy of pixtawan / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

“Golden Star Award” courtesy of pixtawan / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

This is a shoutout to one particular set of my tutoring parents who are super, super awesome.  I’d like to start by saying that many parents have been awesome , supportive, and thankful for my services this year, but I am amazed by this particular pair.  (I will not name names — I will call them “Dad” and “Mom”–, but that won’t stop me from lauding their coolness!)

Why they are so awesome:

  • They didn’t interview me in person; I came in and started right to work! (Very trusting!)
  • They wanted me to tutor writing and clarinet – two of my favorite things!
  • The lessons are for enrichment, so I have a bit of freedom in my planning.
  • They offered me water during my first lesson. (After that I started bringing water bottles, so they didn’t need to give me anything.)
  • They told me they were concerned that I wasn’t getting paid enough through the tutoring company.
  • They invited me to stay for lunch one time when they had an exchange student staying.
  • They ask me “if it’s ok” when they are cancelling a lesson ahead of time.
  • They have no problem with me needing to cancel ahead of time.
  • They told me not to come if it’s snowing.
  • Chocolate for Christmas!
  • This last lesson when I asked to take off my shoes because they had snow on them, Dad brought me slippers to use, since I was in socks! At the end of the lesson Mom carried my shoes across the floor for me so that I could walk through the garage on my way out and avoid the snow.
  • We’ve had lesson for over half a year together, and we’re still going strong!

And generally, these parents are the sweetest, most polite and friendly people I have ever worked with.  It is a pleasure to enter their home.  They lift me up and inspire me to try to be just as caring.

Kudos, Mom and Dad!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

