Takin’ it Back

"Happy Girl Jumping" courtesy of Stuart Miles / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

“Happy Girl Jumping” courtesy of Stuart Miles / FreeDigitalPhotos.net 

Sometimes you just need to get away.   Mini-vacations are great —  you don’t go very far, but you can get out of the house — they are really just as good as a “real” vacation because they still give you that breath of fresh air, that badly needed change of perspective.  This weekend I got a great taste of that when we drove up and visited some family friends for our annual pizza/movie/game sleepover.

I didn’t realize it at the time, but I was a completely different person while I was there.  And by different person, I mean the real me.  I was dancing around to my own imaginary beat, smiling, laughing, and playing.  I was happy.

Besides the overall wonderful time I had with everyone, I had a particularly fulfilling conversation after breakfast.  Everyone was sharing about jobs (some venting involved, of course), and we got around to me and my jobs.  Here I was, out of the situation I was in last year, but feeling similar unhappy feelings.  What had gone wrong?

Well, there were multiple theories and suggestions on the subject, but most important of all were these ideas that I took from it:

Life is about the journey; live for now.  I should be working so that I can live, not living to work.

I am the type of person that loves activity.  I need to make fun activity part of my life.  And I like a variety of activities.  I sing karaoke; I’ve been in orchestra; I like to read, to draw, and to write; I’ve been in theater; I bike ride; I walk, I do yoga, and I Zumba; I go to book club, have game nights, watch movies, and like to hang out with people.   I NEED to be able to do what I like to do.

So, when my job takes over my free time, I am extremely unhappy.  I need to go back to karaoke on Tuesday nights.  I would like to rejoin orchestra.  I need to start reading again and writing every day.  My friends and family said that these activities are my light; they fuel me up to face life.  And I’ve been double-punishing myself lately by dropping these fun activities and replacing them with extra work that is unpleasant and energy-sapping.

Well, today I start making time for these things.  I’m writing this blog, then I’m going to work out to Zumba.  Then, I’m going to hang out and play some games with some good friends.  Unjust self-punishment is over.  I’m taking my life back!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

