Humble Pie

"Small Boy Blowing Nose" by David Castillo Dominici / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

“Small Boy Blowing Nose” by David Castillo Dominici / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Blast.  I’m sick.  After all that bragging that I never get sick.  Well, I’m grateful for two things:

1. I got sick on a weekend during a vacation, so it didn’t interfere with anything.

And

2.  This has made me feel kinship and appreciation for the suffering of others who have gotten sick. I can’t imagine what it’s like for a whole family to get sick at once.  Hopefully they can all pull their blankets downstairs as I have, sipping their tea, or water, or whatever it is they consume to make themselves better, pumping their various vitamins and slurping their soups.  And I do finally feel a bit better.

I think I know how it started.  It started with the two rum & cokes last Tuesday night at karaoke.  My head hasn’t been quite the same since.  And then all those holiday goodies . . .  Yesterday I began to feel the onset, but I foolishly insisted on participating in everything, regardless: the tutoring session, the Post-Apocalypse party, Brian’s work party. . .

This morning as I woke, yesterday’s slight hack became a storm, and I buckled in surprise.  My body felt alien to me, weak, unpredictable.  So, I’ve been paying special attention to it, tiptoeing around, so as not to aggravate it.  I know that Dad used to go for a run when he was sick.  Would that work for this one?  I haven’t exercised in a week, and today is usually one of my days.  But I normally use the elliptical at my parents’ house on this day, and I have no desire to leave the house.  Neither do I have any desire to clean out the whole litterbox, as I’d planned.  Nor desire to finish that last-minute shopping for tomorrow.

Thankfully, Brian has been much sweeter to me than I’ve ever been to him when he’s sick — taking out Bowser, making me breakfast, fetching the tissues, getting dinner started — whereas I would admonish him to suck it up: “You’re not really sick; don’t believe it!”, and would crankily help him when he asked.

It’s been a peaceful day, me slowly recovering and trying to get through my 738-page book for book club, and Brian sitting with his headset on, playing Guardians of Middle Earth, the days solitude broken briefly by a satisfying Bears game (although I was napping for the first half of it, anyway).

Though my head is still a little foggy, I feel the congestion elsewhere has cleared.  I have faith now that I will survive the holiday onslaught of the next few days.  And Wednesday I plan to settle down again, alone with Pride and Prejudice, Little Women,  It’s a Wonderful Life, or whatever other holiday or regular favorite I can find lying around.  Just me and my movie and my tea.  Some time to take care of Teri.

Comments on: "Humble Pie" (6)

  1. Get plenty of sleep and drink some hot tea. I hope you feel better soon.

    – K.

  2. Happens to many. Big rush trying to get things done and BANG a stupid cold bug gets an opening. Take it easy…

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

