"Christmas Tree Decorate By Colorful Beads On White Background" by Anusorn P nachol / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

“Christmas Tree Decorate By Colorful Beads On White Background” by Anusorn P nachol / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

I had two holiday parties this evening, and they had quite different feels. One was all faculty from my Spanish teaching position.  And one was mostly children from one of my tutoring companies.  In the first I engaged in some interesting conversation and got to know my coworkers a little better.  In the other I played some kiddie games and poured cocoa.

Though the second party was not quite as entertaining as the first, I thought my fellow tutor did a fantastic job with the whole thing, and I liked her ideas, so much so, that I thought I’d share them with you.

She started the evening with some activity stations.

  • The first was a Christmas stocking station, with a few ready stocking to choose from, decorative glitter glue, and various decorative baubles.
  • The second was an ornament station, consisting of large popsicle sticks, googly eyes, buttons, large lacy ribbon, felt, and other decorative baubles.
  • The third station was a coupon-book-making station, including felt rectangles for a cover and spongy pieces to make gingerbread and candycane decorations, glitter glue, and clever coupons like “I will clean up the pet,” “I will take out the garbage,” “I will put the dishes away etc.”  I almost made one for myself.
  • The final two stations were guessing stations.  One was your typical guess the number of items in a jar station, and the other was an “I Spy” station with beads in a jar and at least 50 other objects hidden among them that you had to name.  Each of those last two stations had a prize connected to them: a DVD and a small blanket.  (I really wanted the Wizard of Oz one because we’d just been talking about it.  I might have been able to get it if I’d spent even more time on it, but I was feeling guilty participating in the activity, as it was. . .)

Then there was a break for snacks: hot chocolate with marshmallows, green frosted cupcakes, oreos, and “mistletoe” — corn flakes mixed with marshmallow and green food coloring.

The rest of the evening was spent in games, in which the winner got to choose from the prize desk.

  • The most popular was Christmas Bingo because of the rapidity of the games and variety of winners.
  • The kids also enjoyed the around-the-room game in which students had to choose a place to stand (under the frosty, Rudolph, Christmas tree, or Santa picture), the caller picked one of those places from a hat, and whoever was standing under that pick would be out (and then they could rotate if they wished, for the next round, until there was only one winner).
  • And the first game of the evening was a Memory game, in which Christmas-related names like “Dasher”, “Dancer”, “Suzy Snowflake”, “The Grinch”, etc were written on the back of wrapping paper strips taped to the cupboard, and the kids had to make as many matching pairs as possible.

I am not a craftsy person by nature, and so I was triply impressed by the planning and presentation.  I enjoyed playing with the kids and felt like I got to be my regular, goofy self a little bit.  So, even though the kids’ party wasn’t quite the same enlightening and time-flying experience that my first party was, it was worth the drive home in the crazy winds and billowy snow.

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

