Karaoke Queen II — A Poem

Last night I sang my heart out.

The last karaoke crooning of 2012.

And I realized I needed it,

As much as I needed to breathe.

 

Because when I’m there

Singing on stage

Or listening/singing along with my crew,

Nothing matters.

 

I’m not a teacher,

Not a tutor,

Not a writer,

Not a workshop leader.

 

I’m not a disciplinarian,

Not a help-you-catch-up-and-hope-you’re-having-an-“on-day”- and– that-I’M having an “on-day” – ian,

Not a struggling artist,

Not a pulling-myself-out-of-the-house-because-I-need-the-money-and-this-is-my-way-of-life-ian.

 

I . . .  just. . . am.

 

And I’m happy.

And at times like these, I know if I were taken from this world,

Right in this moment,

I would be ok. . .

Because my life is complete.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

