Closet Vegetarian: Part I

"Chef Offering Vegetarian Meal" by marin / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

“Chef Offering Vegetarian Meal” by marin / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

I want to be a vegetarian.  I really, really do with all my being – except for the part of my being that loves meat.

I tried to be a vegetarian once before and was not able to maintain it.  So, this time I’m just going to take one day at a time.  If I have a bit of meat one day, it’s not the end of the world.  I’ll try again at the next meal.

I’m doing it half for animal rights reasons and half for health reasons.  The problem with doing it for health reasons is that it’s easy to be an unhealthy vegetarian when you’re lazy.  There are plenty of easy unhealthy goodies that DON’T have any meat in them.

It’s also hard to be a vegetarian when you’re picky.  Sure, there are tons of options out there, but what if you don’t like eggplant?  Or cucumbers?  Or peppers, mushrooms, or onions?  What if you’re unsure about tempeh and the thought of tofu sometimes makes you queasy?

Then there’s the concern about GMOs, going organic, and avoiding allergens.  Half of my meat substitute options went out the window when I found out Morning Star was GMO, and it’s still sometimes difficult to find organic options for the foods I like.   And what about being semi-lactose intolerant and trying to avoid wheat??  I guess it makes food shopping a little easier when there’s less to choose from!

The hardest, hardest part is when I get a random craving for meat or when people around me are eating meat.  So, that’s why I’m taking this thing a little bit at a time.  If I try to go straight vegetarian like last time, I’ll know I’ll break.  Maybe I’ll make it to Christmas Dinner, and then I’ll fold.

So, I’m going to continue to slowly cut back and make conscious choices.  (Part II to follow.)

Comments on: "Closet Vegetarian: Part I" (2)

  1. I have been a vegetarian for 1½ year now, and like you i just took one day at a time. It really worked for me, at every meal i just said to myself “i can have meat at my next meal, i can wait”.
    I really hope that you do it, it can be difficult in the beginning, but the longer you go without eating meat the easier it gets. Today i actually couldn’t imagine eating meat, it just donesn’t tempt me. Good luck! (:

    • Teri Karl said:

      I really do feel a difference doing it this way. Like you said, I’m not forbidding myself right now — the meat is still a possibility — I’m just opting not to choose it one meal at a time. I’m so glad to hear a success story with this. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

