Today I’m grateful for what makes you stronger.  I read a great quote today posted on Facebook:

“Character cannot be developed in ease and quiet.  Only through experience of trial and suffering can the soul be strengthened, ambition inspired, and success achieved.” — Helen Keller

I’ve had an interesting internal reaction to some of the challenges/frustrations I’ve had lately. . .  feelings of increased enthusiasm and determination!

First Instance

For example, I followed the suggestion of one of my career counselors and “popped by” the office of one of the places I had applied to for work. (Seeker beware: This works in some places, but not others, so be careful!)  I was afraid it wasn’t going to go well, and it didn’t.  I was told that people cannot just pop by and was given a list of steps to follow.

Now, I understand this policy.  There is a safety concern, and people are very busy.  But you can imagine the intense feeling of rejection I felt, dismissed after I had finally mustered up the courage to walk in this place!  Yet. . .  besides the initial shock, I felt a surge of a very different feeling:  energy.  Power.  A “let’s continue” type of attitude.  I had feared the worst, and I had fared the worst, but it really wasn’t so bad.  In fact, it made me want to go visit another place, and to continue on my path.  And I did continue on that path.  Yaking a slightly different approach, I ended up having a wonderful conversation with some very awesome people.

Second Example

Then, today I had an exciting introductory appointment that I had spent hours planning for.  Early this morning I got the call that it was cancelled.  Again. . .  shock.  Also, some frustration and feelings of rejection.  But again, from somewhere within the pit of my stomach, there emerged that  “Well, time to move on”-type feeling.  I picked myself up, remembered something else that I’d almost missed for this appointment, threw myself together, and scooted myself out the door.  “I guess it just wasn’t meant to be!”

What freeing, powerful feelings!  Life is a challenge!  In an easy life, we are protected, but weak.  Hardship makes us vulnerable, but strong!

Image: FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

