Dream Fever

I’m having some vivid dreams again.  Today I am grateful for strange dreams that really make me think.  There’s nothing like a little dream analysis to get me excited in the morning. . .

Zombies

Two nights ago I dreamt of zombies.  I dreamt of zombies once before, but I think I had seen part of a zombie show or movie, so I dismissed that.  This one seemed to be out of nowhere.  All I remember is that I was constantly on the lookout and running from zombies, and at the end, a woman and her elderly mother had approached me.  The woman was talking with me, and I was listening to her while also trying to fend off her mother, who seemed intent on taking a bite out of me.

So, why zombies?  According to Dream Moods:

“To dream that you are attacked by zombies indicate[s] that you are feeling overwhelmed by forces beyond your control. You are under tremendous stress in your waking life.  Alternatively, the dream represents your fears of being helpless and overpowered.”

Well, yes, that makes sense.  My life changes and risk-taking, although necessary, have been extremely stressful.  I am shaking off my old life and finding my true path, and it REALLY freaks me out.  I hope this doesn’t mean I’m going to become a zombie snack every night when I close my eyes . . .

All human beings are also dream beings. Dreaming ties all mankind together. 

— Jack Kerouac 

Cruising Around an Island Chain

This morning I had a very bizarre dream involving islands and a boat.  From what I can remember, I was traveling from island- to-island by boat.  Sometimes I was with people; other times I was not.  I remember thinking that the islands were just far enough away that I couldn’t just hop from one to another on my own.  I’d have to use the boat, and toward the beginning of the dream I was.  However, the boat was on a schedule, and at the end of the dream, I realized I was stranded and could not catch a boat.  I became panicky, realizing that I had separated myself from my family.

Again, from Dream Moods:

“To see or dream that you are on an island signifies ease, relaxation and comfort.  The dream is telling you that you need a vacation and [to] escape the stresses in your life.  It is time for some solitude.”

YES.  I have really felt that I just need some time to myself to spend some time learning what I want to do and where I’d like to go from here.

“To dream that you are stranded on an island suggests that you need to get away from the demands of your daily life. . . [or] the dream means that you feel cut off from society.  You are in a rut and do not know what to do with your life.”

Also very true.  I had a great conversation with Cindy Dove of Purposed Lives yesterday, and I think I’m beginning to make a break through with what I really want out of life, which leads right into the next two suggestions:

“To dream that you are in or see a boat signifies your ability to cope with and express your emotions. . . Alternatively, you may be ready to confront your subconscious and unknown aspects of yourself. . .”

“To dream that you are trying to jump off a boat suggests that you want to confront those difficult emotions and approach your problems head on.”

Perhaps I am finding my way, but I’m afraid I will be breaking away from what others expect and want from me (including family?)  I think this is most likely.

What do you dream about?  What interpretations have you made?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

