Serendipity

 

I think my greatest goal in this moment is to chill out.  I am stressing way too much, and that is not helpful.

Today I am grateful for those events and people that remind me to take a deep breath, relax, and take life as it comes.  (And also chocolate.  Because that has also been very helpful — over 70% dark, so as to also be semi-healthy).

Yesterday I had quite the busy day with the Bolingbrook Village Picnic preview performance (one dance) for our show “Back to the 80’s”, and then rehearsal again at 7.  Also, Brian had a 4PM softball game, and I didn’t want to be driving back-and-forth during all that time (as much as I could have used the “Teri time”.)

So, still deciding what to do, I decided I would make one round around the picnic to check out all of the booths, and I bumped into one of my good friends.  She told me that she was going to be performing a demonstration with some people from her Zumba class.  I told her to let me know when it was because I wanted to check it out.

It turned out that they need some more people to dance with them.  Since I love to dance, I jumped right in and had a blast, despite the over-90-degree weather.  She then invited me to go out with her and a friend for lunch.  This was a perfect way to spend some time before Brian’s game!  I then remembered that I had left my credit card at home, but I found $10 in my pants pocket!  It was just enough for the absolutely delicious salad I had for lunch at Bar Louie: spinach — substituted for iceberg lettuce, avocado, egg, bacon, tomato, and cucumber.  And it hit the spot for the long night to follow (super long rehearsal as we’re getting closer to opening).

Afterwards, she dropped me off for Brian’s game.  I got to relax, enjoying the weather, and Brian and I hung around a little longer to chill and watch a little of the next game.  I really felt at peace, and I knew I wanted to feel that way all the time.

Finally, today, after I got into working mode and began to stress again, I checked in with my new job search accountability partner (one of Brian’s friends), and he had the exact same message for me: meditate.  Relax.  Stay positive.

The occasional bird or two flying are still flying overhead, so I feel like that’s the general message I’m meant to get this week.  So, I’m wishing all of us lots of peace and happiness this week.

Image(s): FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

