Dream Interpretation

I’ve been having some very vivid dreams lately.  I wake up trying to unravel my complicated dramas to figure out what the heck is going on in my head/in my unconscious/or in the spiritual realm.

DREAM #1 THE SNAKE

The most intriguing was a dream this weekend about a red and black checkered snake.  It was medium to large sized and slithered toward me with it’s head and first section upright, like a cobra.  But, though I inched away from it, it continued toward me, slowly and non-threateningly, and I began to feel that it did not intend to harm me.  I stayed and still and the snake sidled up to me and nudged its head into my hand, as if it were a cat.

There are always many, many ways to interpret a dream.  A lot of it depends on what’s going on in your life and the feeling of the dream.  Based on what’s going on, and what I read about snakes and the colors black and red, this is my best guess:

Dream interpretation — color: (dreammoods.com)  The black is hidden spirituality.  Red could also mean spirituality or it could be tiredness/lethargy.

Dream interpretation — snake: (snakedreams.org) These are all directly from the site and could all pertain to me:

  • A snake is a symbol of the unconscious
  • Snakes or serpents indicate you’re in the process of healing and resolving issues
  • The snake is a symbol for an untamed part of yourself or an untapped resource
  • Snakes could represent your intuition or spiritual aspects of yourself; your instinctual drive, what moves you from the depths of your soul
  • Snakes or serpents tend to show up in dreams in times of transition and transformation

DREAM #2 NIGHT BIKE RIDE

We’re at my aunt and uncle’s house in Lombard, and my mom decides we should bike home from there. (It’s about 40 or so minutes driving, mostly along the highway and it’s pitch black night.)  I was surprised — Mom hardly ever even rides her bike, let alone suggests it.  But my sister, my mom, and I hopped on bikes and set off.  I wasn’t sure how we were going to take care of the highway part. (How to see and be seen in the blackness didn’t concern me for some reason.)  I remember riding and at some point realizing that we actually were on the highway.  I began to panic as our biking speed increased, as if we were careening downhill.  Eventually I felt completely out of control, as if I were playing one of those racing video games, and I knew I was going to hit a car in front of me.  Somehow I didn’t, and passed right through it.

Dream interpretation: bike (http://www.unclesirbobby.org.uk/dreamdictionarybike.php)

The two thing I got out of this interpretation that seemed to apply to my life were 1) Sometimes feeling alone in my struggles and 2) feeling like I need to go a long way to reach my life goals  Clearly, at the end, I was feeling out of control, something that I am experiencing daily in my real life, with the changes I’m going through.

Also, (http://www.dreamsleep.net) night can symbolize the unconscious/dark night of the soul.  And the highway (dreammoods.com)  is your sense of direction and life’s path.  So, again, based on my uneasiness and then complete terror, I feel completely out of control in my sense of where my life is headed.

This leads me to my most disturbing dream.

DREAM #3 BURIED DOGS

I’m in the open area behind my parents’ townhomes, and I look over at my neighbor’s yard and realize that there are 3 huge black dogs buried there side by side.  (The 3 of them are large enough that they take up the entire yard.)  I realize that they are not very visible from where I am, but that they would be easily visible from a helicopter.  The area is swampy and full of water, so you can see the dogs clearly from above.

Dream interpretation: (dreammoods.com): “If the dog is dead or dying, then it means a loss of a good friend or a deterioration of your instincts.” And “to see a black colored dog in your dream symbolizes the shadow aspect of a friend.  The dark side of someone close to you is being revealed and you are able to see through to their true intentions.”

Well, that sounds just awful.

You can be sure I’ll be tuning into my dreams tonight!  This morning I had a dream in my parent’s house again, and this time I knew someone was dead and that one of my parent’s friends had done it, someone I’ve only ever seen once.  I decided not to look into that one because when I typed “dream interpretation — murder”, the sites began suggesting I take drugs or therapy.   Bleck.

What do you dream about?  If only my dreams could tell me what to do next with my life!! I’m listening!

Image: Vlado / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Comments on: "Dream Interpretation" (4)

  1. intuitiveone said:

    I love trying to figure out what our dreams mean. Keep working at it. Eventually it all makes sense.

    • Thanks! I will. I’ve heard that you can actually get to the point where you can ask your dreams to help guide you. I would love to get to that point.

  2. Another good dream dictionary website you should check out us dreambible.com. Very accurate symbols.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

