Blog About Blogging

I made a promise to myself as an emerging writer that I would post every day on this blog. So, today I’m blogging about my blogging.

 

This evening I spent a good half hour to an hour throwing ideas around in my journal and looking around my e-mail and social sites to see what others are thinking about. While scanning my e-mail, I was reminded about an interesting live broadcast happening tonight, so I had my first experience attending a webinar, and it was honestly pretty awesome. I took about 6 pages of notes, so I now have some good material for a future blog post.

 

I’ve also been thinking about a current event that’s been circulating for a few days and how I can tie it into my experience as an educator.

 

I’m reading Time to Write by Kelly L. Stone, and in the chapter The Bottomless Well of Inspiration and elsewhere in the book, she talks about how every writer brings his or her own unique position to any situation – so that any situation has an infinite possibility of perspectives. Therefore, every person has the potential to be a writer. (Her book is also my inspiration for this daily commitment to the blog.)

 

To conclude my blog about blogging: I actually feel like a writer now. It really does make a difference making a commitment to write every day, and I don’t just mean in a journal. Journaling is a fairly free-form and blab-easy activity. Actually knowing in my mind that I’m going to come home from work, sit down with my laptop, brainstorm, write, edit and revise, and POST something, really means something. At this point in time, if I were asked what I do, I could easily answer: “I’m a writer.”

Comments on: "Blog About Blogging" (2)

  1. Great post. I consider my self a writer too. I made a commitment to post on my blog at least three times a week, and to write. Not just journaling but, writing. If I don’t write everyday, I start feeling jittery inside, like a junkie might when they need another dose of x?#@*. I gotta write!
    Good luck with your blog, it’s very nice.
    Caroline

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

